2018-02-14 / Front Page

Decisions, decisions

Voters will have lots of choices on the ballots this year
Ledger Staff Writer

Get ready. They will be here very soon.

The yard signs. The mailers. The ads.

Yes, the ads.

The 2018 election season will officially kick off in little more than a month and the Voter Registration and Election Board of Cherokee County is preparing for a busy year.

County voters will have a number of important choices, including filling three county council seats, two state House seats and a full slate of constitutional officials, including auditor, sheriff, clerk of court, coroner, treasurer and probate judge.

Incumbents Mike Fowlkes (District 2), Charles Mathis (District 5) and Tracy McDaniel (District 7) are up for re-election to their county council seats.

State House Reps. Steve Moss (District 30) and Dennis Moss (District 29) are on the ballot this year.

Voters statewide will be picking a new governor, Lt. Governor, state treasurer, attorney general, adjutant general, comptroller general, supt. of education and commissioner of agriculture.

U.S. House Rep. Ralph Norman will be on the ballot for his District 5 seat.

Filing for those races will begin at noon on March 16. The party primaries are slated for June 12 with the general election on Nov. 6.

On Aug. 14, voters will choose council members for Blacksburg and Gaffney as well as the Gaffney Board of Public Works Commission and the school board.

There will be three Gaffney City Council seats on the ballot, including District 2 (Charles Montgomery), 3 (Bernard Smith) and 5 (Boone Peeler).

DeWitt McCraw (District 4) is the lone Gaffney Board of Public Works seat on the ballot.

Blacksburg voters also will get their say this year with town council members Dennis Stroupe (District 1) and Mike Patterson (District 2) as well as mayor David Hogue up for re-election.

Four Cherokee County School Board seats are up for grabs. The incumbents for those seats are District 1 Tracy Moore, District 3 Barry Bailey, District 7 Elaine Fowler, and the vacant District 5 seat.

Ron Garner resigned as the District 5 school trustee last October, so that seat is currently open.


County Council
District 2 - Mike Fowlkes
District 5 - Charles Mathis
District 7 - Tracy McDaniel
City Council
District 2 - Charles Montgomery
District 3 - Bernard Smith
District 5 - Boone Peeler
Cherokee County
Sheriff - Steve Mueller
Auditor - Merv Bishop
Treasurer - Jackie Williams
Clerk of Court - Brandy McBee
Probate Judge - Josh Queen
Coroner - Dennis Fowler

School Board
District 1 - Tracy Moore
District 3 - Barry Bailey
District 5 - Vacant
District 7 - Elaine Fowler
Gaffney BPW
District 4 - Dewitt McCraw
Town Council
District 1 - Dennis Stroupe
District 2 - Mike Patterson
Mayor - David Hogue

State House
District 29 - Steve Moss
District 30 - Dennis Moss

Return to top

Print Edition

Click here for digital edition
2018-02-14 digital edition

Special Sections


Who do you support for Cherokee County Sheriff?